Fact, Fiction, and Blatant Lies

previous - next - old - new�





Cover of book



Streetshore Creative






22 October 2003 - 10:50 p.m.

I've realized something about myself.

I'm never hungry.

The only times when I eat are when I'm bored, when I'm nervous, or as a connoseurial exercise.

I never eat because I need sustenance.

I think it might have something to do with being relatively broke in college; not having enough money to go out to eat. And later being paid pretty well and being able to go out to eat whenever I wanted.

The specialness of food has lost much of its power due to it being so overwhelmingly available. That, and the high quality of the food in the restaurants around here.

It's like being a coin collector all your life, and then falling into some money and being able to complete your collection without any risk or effort.

The same holds true for me for liquors. I rarely drink to get drunk, but I'll indulge myself in a top-shelf tequila, or an exotic microbrew.

Eating and drinking have removed themselves from their biological origins, and have become tourist attractions or museums that I visit.

(0) Comments?


22 October 2003 - 9:48 a.m.

I was in Mystic, CT yesterday helping someone learn how to put up a website yesterday.

I went down a little early to make sure I could find the place, and ended up walking around the town center for an hour or so.

It was very pleasant--clapboards, cedar shingles--very coastal, very New England.

I had a cappuccino at a little coffee shop in between a coupple of touristy shops. They had a few artisan shops with blown glass and ceramics.

I really would like to llive on the water someday. Ironic for someone who can't swim.


Spookyworld news: I scared a teenage kid so well, he fell to the ground and his four or five friends had to pick him up--half of them were screaming--half of them were laughing. And, I got a big guy in his thirties so good, he screamed and did that tiny jumps in place thing with his arms flapping.

(0) Comments?


19 October 2003 - 11:16 a.m.

I scared a woman so well last night at Spookyworld, she had to stop for a couple of minutes. She kept saying, "I'm going to pee my pants! I'm going to pee my pants!"

I love my job.

(0) Comments?


18 October 2003 - 10:35 a.m.

(0) Comments?


17 October 2003 - 11:26 a.m.

An agency just offered me a really great job. . .

. . .in Framingham.

It was a really difficult decision to make, but I had to turn it down. I don't think I can do three hours of driving a day again.

I feel like I just turned down a date with a really great woman because she was taller than me.

I think it was the right decision. I just hope it doesn't make me look like I'm not serious about getting work.

(0) Comments?


16 October 2003 - 12:00 p.m.

Hey! I won a slam at the Cantab in Cambridge, MA last night.

I think it's the first slam that I've won in like a year and a half. I've come in second and third a bunch of times--enough to get into finals and stuff, but I can't remember the last time I came in first place.

And, I got ten bucks for winning!

All this despite some audible, critical grumblings about my writing from an audience member. To him I'd just like to say:

We shrank to tiny proportions as we walked under the naked forest, under the gothic arches of maples and birches, under the glittering glimpses of the sky.

And, sorry, we all can't be dead poets.

(0) Comments?


previous - next - old - new�


pg13

What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla