Fact, Fiction, and Blatant Lies

previous - next - old - new�





Cover of book



Streetshore Creative






28 April 2003 - 1:49 p.m.

So I was in the Worcester Poets' Asylum semifinal slam last night.

The night went really well. I came in fourth out of nine competitors.

One of the poets, who showed up at the last second so he would have to listen to as few of us as possible, and left as soon as his ranking was announced so he wouldn't have to interact with any of us, used his last poem to call us all shit and to proclaim himself a "real" poet.

I disagree.

The theme of his last poem was "I could slam, but. . . [I'm a real poet and slam is beneath me.]" Ironically, I have never seen him perform anywhere outside a slam. I have never seen him perform when scores were not involved.

He does the same thing at The Providence Poetry Slam.. He shows up and competes exactly the minimum amount to qualify for the semifinals or the finals -- no more, and never performs anything except his slam poems.

He's a slam whore, and he gets points from the judges for calling the rest of us shallow and phony.

I am so happy Dave Mac was there to knock him out of first place.

Although dave's a slam whore, too. (Just kidding Dave.)

I guess this is something that's unavoidable in a completely open competition. But, man opportunism is really ugly.

(0) Comments?


28 April 2003 - 12:36 p.m.

This is on my refrigerator among all the magnetic poetry.

My friends are perverts.

(0) Comments?


27 April 2003 - 11:13 a.m.

Good morning.

(0) Comments?


previous - next - old - new�


pg13

What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla