Fact, Fiction, and Blatant Lies

previous - next - old - new�





Cover of book



Streetshore Creative






20 September 2002 - 10:10 a.m.

If it were not Friday, I would give my two weeks notice.

I have a dilemma. My job is pretty good, except for the amount of work required to get here each day. I commute over an hour each way, and when I come in and there's no work to do, I get very demoralized.

I've considered doing freelance work at home, but I don't know if I'll be successful enough. I am an excellent designer and production artist, but not very good at administrative issues, like bookkeeping and customer service. I could work through agencies, but most of the ones I come across are up in Boston, so there's the same problem with commuting.

If I succeed at being a freelance artist, I can be very successful, but if I fail, I'm screwed.

If I do this, it'll either be the best decision I've ever made, or the biggest mistake I've ever made. There's not a lot of middle-ground.

Now, apart from being a designer, I also paint, do bookbinding, perform poetry and want to try stand-up comedy, so maybe if business slows in the graphics field, I can keep busy doing the other stuff. It would also free up some of mu time to try all this other stuff.

I really should try to get some freelance work first and then leave my job to work at home full time.

The question becomes, If I dedicate 40 hours a week to earning money, can I earn as much as I am now commuting three hours a day?

Part-time graphics jobs crop up from time to time in Providence, but they don't pay very well. They could hold me over to some degree in certain circumstances.

Maybe I shouldn't even think about this in this kind of economy.

Anyone have some advice?


In other news, my guestboook is back!

(0) Comments?


previous - next - old - new�


pg13

What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla