Fact, Fiction, and Blatant Lies

previous - next - old - new�





Cover of book



Streetshore Creative






10 March 2003 - 3:42 p.m.

The problem with the pro-war anti-war argument that's going on right now is that the pro-war people tend to assume that the anti-war people are pro-enemy.

Well, we're not.

There are no pro-Saddam rallies going on.

And, many if not most of us who are against a war in Iraq are not generally anti-war. Some of believe war is unacceptable in all circumstances. Some of us believe that war is necessary sometimes.

I, for instance would pull the trigger myself if I had a clear shot at Osamma bin Laden.

My issue with this conflict is I simply do not trust George W. Bush's motives. He's been saying all along that he would use war as a last resort when it's obvious that war was his first and only choice.

Think about this: GWB says that Saddam is hiding weapons of mass destruction, and the fact that the weapons inspectors can't find any is proof that they're hiding them. Iraq has to provide proof that they destroyed weapons that they say they never had. The conclusion is that there is no action that Iraq can take that will please the U.S. administration.

Here's another question: if we can send in 250,000 soldiers to invade Iraq, whay can't we send in 50,000 inspectors to search every square inch of the country? Why can't we send in forensic experts?

This is usually when the pro-war people change the subject and say, well look. Saddam gassed his own people. We need a regime change.

Bullshit. In Sierra Leone, there wer roving bands of guerillas high on crack cocaine who were going around hacking people's limbs off with machetes. Amnesty International called it the worst place on earth. They are now part of the government and we didn't do a fucking thing. So we're obviously not interested in the humanitarian issues. Well, maybe we would've been if Sierra Leone was on top of the largest reserve of oil in the world.

There's simply too much history with the Republican administrations and Iraq, too many back-door deals, too many questions for me to support a war in Iraq.

I'm not un-American. I'm not unpatriotic, I'm not a traitor, and I'm not a coward, but I'm not a sheep either.

I just don't buy it. My research, my experience and my instincts tell me that something fishy is going on.

George Bush didn't prove his case, mostly because he didn't present a case. When we said, "why do we need to attack Iraq?" He just said, "because I said so."

That's not good enough.

And another thing. Allies are people who work with us. They're not people who just do what we say because we say it. The countries who disagree with us about Iraq have every right to do so.

It's a waste of time though because GWB has already said that he's not going to listen to public opinion when it comes to this. He's apparently not going to listen to anyone else, so what else can I do or say?

I'm arguing with a president who has already decided that there is no argument to be had. So we'll bomb Iraq. . . again. All of GWBs buddies in oil and weapons construction will get rich while we pile another $200,000,000,000 onto the deficit, the stock market tail-spins into the dirt, and the recession drags on and on and on.

Remember the recession Mr. Bush? The economy? You know the reason you got the votes you did? Hello? Hellooo?

(0) Comments?


10 March 2003 - 3:20 p.m.

Don't you just love how the news shows and sites keep saying, "if we go to war with Iraq."

How quaint.

(0) Comments?


10 March 2003 - 12:21 p.m.

I saw an ad last night for a reality show where the audience phones in and arranges marriages between the contestants.

I screamed, "STOP IT" at the screen.

STOP IT! STOP IT! STOP IT!

I've argued for free speech in the face of the Klan, neo-nazis, racism, bigotry, drug-use, civil disobedience, and protest, but these reality shows are beginning to force me to question my position.

(0) Comments?


10 March 2003 - 9:53 a.m.

Someone googled "long penises" and got my diary.

OK, I'm kidding. It was MSN search.

(0) Comments?


10 March 2003 - 9:34 a.m.

The next time a Republican woman says she is anti-feminist, I'm going to say, "fine, then shut up and make me a sandwich."

(0) Comments?


previous - next - old - new�


pg13

What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla