Fact, Fiction, and Blatant Lies

previous - next - old - new�





Cover of book



Streetshore Creative






04 December 2002 - 1:25 p.m.

Well, I've been looking at this for a while, trying to come up with my feelings on the matter and after reading countless news stories and seeing the President and his advisors speak on the issue I have come to a conclusion, and I can sum it up in three words:

Wag the dog.

It is obvious to me that we are after Iraq to distract us from the fact that the current administration is unable or unwilling to do anything to improve the economy.

The fact that the head of the U.N., and the head of the weapons inspectors both have said that they are getting good cooperation and unfettered access from the iraqis, combined with the President's opinion that the beginning of the weapon's inspections were "not encouraging" lead me to believe that it doesn't matter what Irag does or doesn't do. George W. Bush wants to attack Iraq, and apparently so do a majority of Americans.

Add to this the fact that the administration has produced no evidence that there is any reason to attack Iraq apart from Iraq's expulsion of the weapons inspectors four years ago.

Yes, Sadam Hussein is a brutal dictator, but there are dozens of brutal dictators. What about them? Americans remember the Gulf War and Sadam Hussein has been made into the world's villain.

We seem convinced that a terrorist attack from Iraq is just about guaranteed despite the fact that Iraq has never attacked the U.S.

The terrorist attacks on September 11th came from Al Quaida, a militant Islamic group that has nothing to do with Iraq. Evidence points to a deep hatred between Osama bin Laden and Sadam Hussein.

I think we need to be focused on Al Quaida before anything else.

Now, if the weapons inspectors find something or are expelled again, then military action is necessary, but I don't think it'll ever get that far. I think we'll be at war long before either of those scenarios.

It seems to me that in an era when a number of militant Isalmic groups have declared war on us that we are working very hard to turn all Arabs against us, when we should be trying to bring them over to our side and alienate the militant groups.

I guess what it comes down to is this. If we go to war with Irag I'm going to be asking myself, "why are we at war with Iraq?" I don't have a good answer." I think we need a good reason to declare war, and distracting ourselves from the recession is not a good reason.

On the other hand we have a very good reason to go after Al Quaida and Osama bin Laden.

(0) Comments?


04 December 2002 - 9:52 a.m.

"Welcome to the last fifteen seconds of your life," she said as the gun cocked.

"I just wanted you to know that I'm doing this as much for you as I am for me, because even though it's a beautiful day and I know what I'm doing is wrong, it just feels right doesn't it?'

Click.

(0) Comments?


03 December 2002 - 12:55 p.m.

I think one of the most disturbing things that could happen to a person is for that person to be in some kind of accident which results in one of their eyes being popped out , but still attached and functional and ending up in such a way that they could see their own face with the eye missing.

I need something else to think about.

(0) Comments?


previous - next - old - new�


pg13

What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla