Fact, Fiction, and Blatant Lies

previous - next - old - new�





Cover of book



Streetshore Creative






10 July 2003 - 8:43 a.m.

I've been looking to buy a replacement for my iBook for a while.

I'd like to get a used Mac that's maybe a year old, or a refurbished one, but the problem I keep running into is this: even the Macs that are two years old are selling for only about $100 less than the brand-new models which are twice as fast.

I don't get it. Is ebay so successful that it is now isolated from retail to the point that people will pay a premium to buy a used item rather than buy a new one from a retail place?

Why would I ever spend $1199 for a two year old Mac, when the new ones have better video cards, bigger hard drives, faster processors and are, um NEW and are only $1299 with a year warranty?

The thing is they're selling at these prices at auction, online from strangers.

It's crazy.

(0) Comments?


previous - next - old - new�


pg13

What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla